First page of Deits' letter. HCP Collection.

P.W.
Head Quarters 104th Regt Penn.
Carvars Barracks Meridian Hill
Washington D.C.

Feb. the 17th 1862

Kind & respected Friend

I take this opportunity to write you a few lines to let you know how I am & where I am. As you will see by this I have not got to Port Royal yet & the prospect is not verry good for getting there verry soon if ever. When I got to Washington I was sent to Gen. Caseys Office & he sent me here. I am in a Pennsylvania regiment & they are quartered in barracks which are verry Comfortable they are on meridian Hill same place where my regt camped when we first got to Washington & in sight of the Hospital where I was in October. I shal get a lot of Clothing today. I shal stay here for the present & after a spell I will get a pass to town & go to the Quarter Master Generals office & see if I can get a pass to go to my regiment & if I can’t do it I will content myself to stay in this regt. This regiment is in a brigade of four thousand men under the command of Gen. Casey the Colonel of this regt acting Brigadier there are two Penv. regts here one New York regt & one Maine regt. The barrack ar in the form of a hollow square of six or seven acres  Each Company has a building by its self  I think I shall do well enough to stay here, the boys all seems to think that this brigade will not leave here at all I don’t think any more to write now but I will write to you again after a while when I get a little more regulated  No more at present So good bye This from your friend and well wisher  Amasa H Deits

P.S. I will write a little more for I have not done verry well this time I have not got a verry good place to write & so you must Excuse my poor writing  I hope you will get over your lameness before long so that you can help yourself again  I expect that there will be some letters there for me after a few days & I should like to have them down here, if you could have your ward master see the Post master and have him forward them to me I would be glad if you could do that the directions will be as follows Amasa H. Deits Co. J. 104th Regt Penn. Vols. Carvers Barracks Meridian Hill Washington D.C., I suppose that there will be a couple there for me before long  No more this time yours

Amasa H. Deits

Give my respects to all the boys

 

Amasa H. Deits was from Kent County and enlisted in 8th Michigan Infantry, Co. H on September 5th, 1861. He was assigned to  Co. I, 104th Pennsylvania Infantry sometime after October 1861. He likely met Baird when they were both in the hospital, which he mentions in the letter. He lived out the term of his service in the 104th Pennsylvania and was discharged due to wounds on September 30th, 1864 and lived in Charlevoix, Michigan for a time.  He eventually located to Hesperia in Oceana County, Michigan where he purchased property in 1877 and was a founding member of a local G.A.R. chapter in 1879. He was drawing a pension of $4.00 per month in 1883. He married his wife Rhobia in 1874 and they had three children together, only one of which was living by 1900, their daughter Idaline. Amasa passed away in 1907 and is buried in the West Hesperia Cemetery in Oceana County, Michigan, click here for an image of his tombstone.

